Quote: Let’s talk about mental health

Today is Bell Let’s Talk Day, an annual Canadian campaign aimed at raising awareness about – and raising money for – issues surrounding mental health.

I know people – strong, smart, funny, resilient, wonderful people – who are at times nearly paralyzed by depression and anxiety. This is something that affects us all.

I went through two terrible rounds of postpartum depression after my daughters were born. To say it was a struggle, or that is was difficult, is a ridiculous understatement.

There were moments when the weight of it all – the weight of this relentless, invisible, indescribable pain – was so great that I couldn’t even stand up. There were times when all I could do was lie on the ground in bathroom and cry, curled in a ball with my baby and my family on the other side of the locked door.

But I’m lucky, because I was surrounded by people who recognized that what was happening was serious. People who talked to me about it, who listened, and who helped me get the help that I needed.

At the time, I couldn’t see the light at the end of that long tunnel, but it was there. It’s always there.

Tag your posts with #BellLetsTalk today to help raise money, and to help start the conversation.

One thought on “Quote: Let’s talk about mental health

Leave a Reply

